Malcolm X – A Dream Liberty Activist

2

March 6, 2013 by Liberty

Image

Call me a silly romantic but I like to dream a little bit about this possibility.

While I was growing up I had a very negative view of Malcolm X. I knew just what I was taught about him in school. I had the impression that he was an unnecessarily violent man that didn’t live up to a quarter of the man that Martin Luther King Jr. was. I thought Malcolm X was just a militant activist without any real class. That was my general impression until I started to actually learn a little bit about what he believed.

Bear in mind, he said some crazy stuff. I think religion was really his downfall. If he wasn’t such a religious fanatic, he could have been a perfectly sensible man. Or at least that’s what I choose to believe. When I dream liberty dreams, I think of the words that this man said.

“Nobody can give you freedom. Nobody can give you equality or justice or anything. If you’re a man, you take it.” – Malcolm X

Naturally, short of the gender specification, I agree with this statement completely.

He is a man that is all too eloquent to be forgotten. He could stand up for his own personal rights with such a balance of logic and intensity that no one could question him. He ended up saying a lot of things that seemed downright violent. He was aggressive in protecting freedom.

Just listen to some of the things that he said and you’ll start to understand why I truly believe that he would have been an amazing libertarian:

“I don’t even call it violence when it’s in self defense; I call it intelligence.” -Malcolm X

“If you’re not ready to die for it, put the word ‘freedom’ out of your vocabulary.” – Malcolm X

(That’s a scary thought but it’s more true than I like to admit. He spoke about freedom from a perspective that the majority of the population never could understand but he did it in a way that stood for everything that people believed morally.)

90% of what Malcolm X preached was straight libertarian philosophy. While he obviously spoke directly against a number of the mechanisms involved that libertarians supported, he consistently was bringing up the most libertarian thoughts and philosophies of that time.

He is always going to remain this theoretical dream liberty activist. In fact, he was one of the most popular people to ever talk about these basic libertarian philosophies on national television (even if that wasn’t his goal.)

While many people see Malcolm X as the crazy militant on the other side of the debate. Today I view him as an integral part in the conversation. What is it that gets a person to discuss black rights on national television. Would Martin Luther King Jr. have been able to get so many TV appearances if it wasn’t for the violent overtones of the Nation of Islam? Friendly pastors wouldn’t get TV time unless there was a story to be told. Malcolm X was part of that story. I see it as a carrot and stick situation.

Malcolm X is an eloquent man that could market a message better than anyone. He spoke in a way that could gather the right kind of intelligent, logical conversation started. He could make the people he debated against sound like complete idiots without even doing anything particularly clever.

Eventually Malcolm X started to make even more sense (when he started to down talk his religion.) That’s the point that he gets killed… Naturally… (If things like this aren’t some sort of secret conspiracy then I can’t help but wonder if there is a god and he hates us. )

My dream liberty activist would be the grown up Malcolm X with a little bit of free market enthusiasm in his blood. The day I see that my tails going to be wagging like a dog.

2 thoughts on “Malcolm X – A Dream Liberty Activist

  1. Daniel says:

    Yes, very good analysis. I thnik we cant blame him for not knowing austrian economics at a time when Mises was carrying it almost single-handledly, and austrian school was extremely fringe.

  2. […] Malcolm X: A Dream Liberty Activist […]

Have something to say?

Follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Economic Collapse Investing News Philosophy Spreading The Message Relationships State Funded Radio Other

Help Support Libertarian Money

LM Bitcoin Address:
175GUagTitf4zFXKywNoSSHhZtc5E2HPnw

The survival of Libertarian Money depends on the support of its readers. There are two easy ways to show your support:

1. Donate to the bitcoin address above.
2. Find content that you love and share it!

Please show your support.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive free new posts by email.

